Skip to main content
Dana Spiotta

Dana Spiotta

Associate Professor,

210 Tolley Humanities Building


Dana Spiotta is the author of four novels, Lightning Field (Scribner, 2001); Eat the Document (Scribner, 2006),which was a finalist for the 2006 National Book Award and a recipient of the Rosenthal Foundation Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters; Stone Arabia (Scribner, 2011), which was a National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist and a New York Times Notable Book of 2011; and Innocents and Others (Scribner, 2016), a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Pick. Stone Arabia was named a best book of 2011 by The Washington PostThe Boston GlobeThe Los Angeles TimesNewsweekEntertainment WeeklyThe Believer, and Salon. Spiotta was a Guggenheim Fellow in 2008 and a New York Foundation for the Arts Fellow in 2009; she won the 2008-9 Rome Prize and the 2017 John Updike Award.

Areas of Supervision